The Route


Stage 1

Monday 23 April 2018

From the capital city of Polokwane at the Peter Mokabe Stadium, participants will traverse the scenic Magoebaskloof Pass before reaching the finish line in Tzaneen.

Key features of the day:

Distance: 96.4km

Elevation gain: 1266m

Two hotspots (points accumulation) for Sprinters [26.5km + finish]

One King of the Mountain hotspot (points to overall King of the Mountain Jersey) [54.5km]

TdL_Stage 1.jpg


Stage 2

Tuesday 24 April 2018

Participants will depart Tzaneen and head towards the Limpopo University via Magoebaskloof Pass before turning and heading back to Tzaneen via the R81 on this Queen Stage.

Key features of the day:

“Queen Stage”

Distance: 175km

Elevation gain: 2735m

Three King of the Mountain hotspots (points to overall King of the Mountain jersey) [26km / 40.5km / 153km]

One Sprint hotspot [14.5km]

TdL_Stage 2.jpg


Stage 3

Wednesday 25 April 2018

The Team Time Trial will start and finish in Tzaneen. Riders must complete the 28.8km route, with the top four riders of each team determining their time for the stage. This stage can improve their top rider's overall classification.

Key features of the day:

Distance: 28.8km

Team Time Trial

*Revised circular loop!

TdL_Stage 3.jpg


Stage 4

Thursday 26 April 2018

On the fourth and final day, riders will tackle the road from Tzaneen to Polokwane where the race will come to an end at the Peter Mokabe Stadium.

Key features of the day:

Distance: 96.9km

Elevation gain: 2134m

King of the Mountain points competition with one hotspot [25.5km]

One Sprint hotspot [14.5km]

Finish at Peter Mokaba Stadium

TdL_Stage 4.jpg